Reviews: Memoirs of An Imaginary Friend

DownloadedFile-1I have read a book written from the view of death and a book written from the view of a five years old boy. Now I have just finished reading a book written from the view of an imaginary friend of a boy with autism in the novel, Memoirs of An Imaginary Friend by Matthew Dick. I must say that this book blew my mind away. You get so involved that you forget it is an imaginary friend telling the story. This book is not what I thought it would be when I first picked it as one of my must reads.

Max has autism and is in the third grade. He has an imaginary friend named Budo who only he can see and talk to. Budo can talk to other imaginary friends however. He is always there for Max when he gets “stuck” and can’t deal with the every day stresses of being a boy in school who is different. Budo helps him deal with problems and gives him the confidence he needs to overcome certain situations. Then one day, Max is in a situation that only Budo knows the truth and only he can save Max. How? He is not real. He cannot tell anyone what happened to Max! This is the toughest problem for Budo and he has to figure out a way to reach the real world to save Max. Budo pays the cost of his existence to save the one who believed in him all along. .

I do not want to give anything away, but as a teacher, I sat on the edge of my seat reading this book, forgetting Budo is imaginary, and praying he finds a away to save Max. Anyone who works close with children will find at least one character that hits home to them from this story. I saw Max in many of my students as well as Budo himself. I highly recommend this novel. It will forever change the way you think of an imaginary friend in the eyes of a child.

http://matthewdicks.com/

Leave a Reply

