Reviews:The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore

The Fantastic Flying BooksThis is my first review on a children’s book and I could not resist! As a kindergarten teacher you read many books written by great authors to your students and many of those books touch you in some way or another and become your favorite. I have never had one to touch me like, The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore written by William Joyce. As I was searching the shelf in our Barnes & Noble bookstore with my daughter, I came across this book on the shelf and its beautiful cover caught my eyes first. Then I started reading this book about a man’s love for books and the stories they tell. I couldn’t finish reading it without getting emotional. My daughter finished reading the next few pages. It was heart warming and expressed my own love for the books I have read and the connection I feel from their authors. It is a reminder that everyone has a story to tell and every story is worth reading. As a tribute to Bill Morris, Joyce wrote this wonderful book in honor of him. It took him many years to finish it from one interruption after another but has been well worth it. It started out as an Academy Award winning animated short film, then a story app, and then the book. I am glad I came upon this book sitting on the shelf. It has inspired me to keep dreaming of my own book that I some day would like to write as well as continuing to read the stories of the great authors out there that have their stories to tell. No matter what grade, this book is a must for all elementary teachers to have in their class library. What a better way to show your excitement for books to your students then from such a story that puts the positive perspective on reading and writing and gives a clear understanding of what it means to be an author. Check out William Joyce’s website below for more about The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore as well as other goodies.

www.moobotstudios.com

 

Leave a Reply

